Dynamic Aerospace Vehicle Exchange Markup Language (DAVE-ML) Reference

Version 2.0 (Release Candidate 3)

AIAA Modeling and Simulation Technical Committee



The Dynamic Aerospace Vehicle Exchange Markup Language (DAVE-ML) is a text-based file format intended for encoding the principal elements of a flight simulation model for an aerospace vehicle. It is based on two other open standards: the Extensible Markup Language (XML) version 1.1 and the Mathematical Markup Language (MathML) version 2.0, both products of the World Wide Web Consortium. DAVE-ML defines additional grammar (markup elements) to provide a domain-specific language capable of aerospace flight dynamics modeling, verification, and documentation.

This markup language represents the encoding format for BSR/AIAA S-119 Flight Dynamic Model Exchange Standard [AIAA10].

This is a draft version of the reference manual for DAVE-ML syntax and markup. DAVE-ML syntax is specified by the DAVEfunc.dtd Document Type Definition (DTD) file; the version number above refers to the version of the DAVEfunc.dtd.

DAVE-ML is an open standard, being developed by an informal team of American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) members. Contact the author above for more information or comments regarding refinement of DAVE-ML.

The editors would like to acknowledge the contributions, encouragement and helpful suggestions for steering the evolution of DAVE-ML from the following individuals: Trey Arthur (NASA Langley Research Center), Jon Berndt (Jacobs Sverdrup), Geoff Brian (Australian DSTO), Randy Brumbaugh (Indigo Innovations), Giovanni A. Cignoni (University of Pisa), Bill Cleveland (NASA Ames Research Center), Jeremy Furtek (Delphi Research), Peter Grant (UTIAS), Missy Hill (UNISYS), Hilary Keating (Fortburn Pty. Ltd.), Dennis Linse (SAIC), J. Dana McMinn (NASA Langley Research Center), Daniel M. Newman (formerly Ball Aerospace, now Quantitative Aeronautics), Riley Rainey (SDS International), Brent York (formerly NAVAIR, now Indra Systems, Inc.), and Curtis Zimmerman (NASA Marshall Space Flight Center).